So I saw the 2015 Doctor Who Christmas special and there are spoilers in this blog post. So if you haven’t watched the special, then don’t read this. But tissues will be needed during the show.

I’ve learned from experience that if Mr. Steven Moffat’s name is on a show, I better grab my tissues. Because this time, the Mean and Cruel Moffat had me in tears. I sobbed for a good hour, had to drive home from my friend’s house who was worried about me and asked me to text her when I was home. And yes, I made it home safe and yes I text her. But I really don’t like the mean and cruel Mr. Moffat. And yes, I’m still crying.

The Christmas Special this year was just that, special. Special because the show had so much meaning.

Buried in King Hydrafax’s head was a diamond worth millions of dollars. And buried in the show was a love story larger than the sea and hotter than the sun. The Doctor and his Sweetie.

River had become a woman who saved her Damsel in Distress, the Doctor.  Unknown to her, he had changed into the rough man he is today. She didn’t know him. It’s sad because that’s how it started. He didn’t know her when he first met her and she didn’t know him when she last saw him. Very timey wimey and very Doctorish. Time has no mercy on anyone especially to the Time Lords who ruled it.  She carried her diary with her and said that the man who gave it to her knew how long she would need a diary. And the diary was filled. The Doctor asked, “Was he important?” She replied, “No.”

In this episode, she was to retrieve a diamond from the King’s head and sell it to the highest bidder. She made the king fall in love with her and marry him after the diamond was lodged in his head due to an explosion. Once the king discovered her only reason for marrying him was to get the diamond, she and the doctor raced off with the king’s still living head. (Don’t ask, non-nerds). The king’s robot body followed them to a space liner ship. There, the cyborg body destroyed the king’s head and demanded that River reveal the Doctor’s location so it could have the Doctor’s head. (Again, non-nerds don’t ask.) But River lost hope in the Doctor a long time ago. She pretty much gave up on him loving her back. In fact her words were Moffat-Spoken:

 

Loving the Doctor is like loving the stars, you don’t expect the sunset to admire you back.

But admire her he did. And loved her so very much, he did.

Mr. Moffat not only put me into a sobbing mess of puddles, but he also brought the River Saga to a close. It’s hard to see that wonderful woman fade away like the setting sun. The Doctor made sure her last time with him would be the best ever. The Singing Towers of  Darillium. Two lovers standing side by side forever.  A fitting and heartbreaking end to the most treasured (at least I think so) love story ever written.

The Doctor made  her last days as special as he could and told her he wouldn’t be able to rescue her this time. But he did promise her one night. And that made it special.

So Mr. Moffat, I still say you are cruel and mean, but the best writer I have ever known. So if you haven’t seen this episode then be sure to grab some tissues and some cookies. Cookies help. And sob. And know that very soon, Dr Song will go to the library and see her true love for the very last time and the Doctor will see her for the very first time. Mr. Moffat, you are a cruel man.

 

 

 

